• twitter.com/travel1000place
  • facebook.com/avel1000places
  • Visit us:
This article:


Time Zone Chicago

CST stands for Central Standard Time.
CST is six hours behind of UTC (GMT) time, e.g. London, UK. Chicago is one hour behind East Coast Time, e.g. New York City, Miami, Washington DC.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Chicago observes DST. During Daylight Saving Time the time zone is renamed from CST to CDT.
DST (=turn clock 1 hr ahead) begins at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday in March and Standard Time (=turn clock 1 hr back) starts at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November.

DST 2010: Sunday, March 14 until Sunday, November 7, 2010

General information about time zones in the USA

The continental United States of America have 4 time zones:

  • EST (Eastern Standard Time): GMT-5
  • CST (Central Standard Time): GMT-6
  • MST (Mountain Standard Time): GMT-7
  • PST (Pacific Standard Time): GMT-8

In addition there are two further zones for:

  • Alaskan Time: GMT-9
  • Hawaiian Time: GMT-10


GMT: Greenwich Mean Time
CST: Central Standard Time (UTC -6 hrs)
CDT: Central Daylight Time (UTC -5 hrs); time span when clocks are advanced 1 hr during the summer months
UTC: Coordinated Universal Time (equals GMT)
DST: Daylight Saving Time in the USA

Last change / history

On August 8, 2005, President Bush signed the Energy Policy Act of 2005, which included changes in Daylight Saving Time, effective March 1, 2007.
Source: Physics Laboratory, U.S. National Institute of Standards & Technology


Document Information:
Source: ChicagoDossier.us
Last modified: 20090615
copyright ©2010-2015 DENALImultimedia LLC; CHICAGOdossier.us and/or respective owner(s). All rights reserved.
By accessing and using this website you agree to comply with our Terms of Use / Disclaimer / Copyright Info.
  • twitter.com/travel1000place
  • facebook.com/travel1000places